Day 77: TAG Drama

October 12, 2009

Sandy got mad.

Sandy realized he posted in haste.

Sandy felt better.

Sandy had to cancel on In A Wicked Age.

Ryan got mad.

Ryan got to play In A Wicked Age anyway.

Ryan felt better.

What’s the lesson here?  Don’t post while angry.  Both Sandy and I already know this, but did we do it? Nope.

Did I act any smarter because Sandy had just gone through the same thing?  Nope.

People criticize the Dalai Lama for talking about things like “be nice to people” and “practice compassion in your daily life.”  People complain that this kind of stuff is in any Sunday school pamphlet, or the boy scout handbook.  People complain that such a highly focusing figure is telling us stuff we’ve heard before.

But clearly, we still need to hear it.  Can you really say we’ve all got the whole basic “be nice to people” thing down cold?  Are you as caring, responsible, clear-headed, and generous as you could be?  Are you resilient against things that bother you – can you stay caring, responsible, clear-headed, and generous when you’re having a bad day, or when someone is yelling at you? I do what I can, but I definitely could be better.  I really don’t see those qualities reflected in the media or the people we give power to.

The Dalai Lama keeps talking about the same stuff because he recognizes that we all could stand to work on the basics.

The moral of this story is: We’re human, we make mistakes, we pick up and try to do better.  Meanwhile, we’ll keep practicing the basics.

3 Responses to “Day 77: TAG Drama”

  1. Sandy Says:

    This one brought a smile to my face, Ryan 🙂

    You hit the nail right on the head. As basic and elementary as those rules are, it’s awfully hard to remember (much less practice) them when when your head is exploding with anger.

    I think this is going to be one of my new years resolutions this year 😉

  2. Johnny Oneiric Says:

    I’m in. Let’s not wait for new year’s, but start now. 🙂

  3. desiree Says:

    Ya know. I just had my very own hasty moment with TAG drama. It wasn’t as public as Sandy’s, but it was hurtful to myself and a few others.
    There will always be misunderstandings.
    We live and learn.
    Reading your post reminds me that it’s not always going to be shitty. We all heal and move on.
    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

