Day 65: Resources

September 30, 2009

Over at the TAG forum, John brought up a good point, that if players know there are only 2 or 3 encounters in an expedition, some of the resource management of 4th Edition will be lost.  Tracking resources from one session to the next is possible in a regular game, but too onerous for me to do as a league GM where casual players may have multiple characters but only play for a few sessions.  This isn’t a big worry for me – I think I tend to put my encounters on the hard side anyway, and I’m guessing that the benefits of short expeditions to the real-world players outweigh the fun that would be had making the characters’ lives more tightly tracked.  But I really do want to play tightly to the rules, keeping their relation to the fictional world’s “physics” intact.

I’d like to hear other opinions on this.  When it comes to resources, what’s fun?  What works for the “league” style game?  What makes the game better?

3 Responses to “Day 65: Resources”

  1. filbolg Says:

    If you want real world resource tracking , why dont we start with arrows and fifths of vodka.

    God knows I’ve just presumed that weight , ammunition, and food have ‘existed appropiately’ for far too long in my games, and I dont think my players would have it any other way.

  2. Monty Says:

    This is one issue I think the level cap does a good job of alleviating. Resources as in healing surges/ daily powers/ magic items are scare at Heroic.

    Three encounters between extended rests is a solid baseline at Heroic and a reasonable expectation for the typical game night, I think.


Leave a Reply

