Day 62: Ryerson Game

September 27, 2009

I had a great time at the Ryerson game, and I got one thing that I really needed: Renewed enthusiasm for Tag’s Folly. I’d been feeling a little bummed about the lack of response, the dropped players, and the scheduling woes. But I introduced more gamers to the world, and saw them really enjoying the interaction with it.

Besides that, there’s not a lot to report from the GM side. We had a bit of a late start due to some scheduling confusion, and I met Alex and Mason, who I haven’t gamed with before. The players nicely put their Wizard, played by Mike R, next to the voracious hyena pack, but again I was denied my coup-de-grace. This time it was Monty who stepped up both by opting to play a leader class, and by actually doing the Wizard-saving.

In that battle I again saw the ways that 4e encourages roleplaying through combat roles, and this time it was the way 2 PCs were fighting back-to-back in one combat, and how two sets of PCs co-ordinated with each other in the following fight where they had a lot of diffcult terrain between them.

Leave a Reply

