Day 45: Run a game you love

September 10, 2009

At the end of our Faery’s Tale game the other night, we realized that now, we’ve all GM’d at least once at the House on the Hill.  That’s pretty sweet, as a group dynamic.

Now, most of us aren’t quite sure what to run next (I know I’m not that sure, and I should be next up).  We’ve got a Labyrinth Lord game run by Sandy coming up – he’s a guest GM so the four of us (John, Peter, Mike, and I) can work together against him.  On the way home Peter mentioned that he really wasn’t sure what he’d enjoy running, and wasn’t sure what to bring.

I pointed out that he had a whole closet full of boardgames he hasn’t had a chance to play.  That’s when I realized, as I was talking, how important it is for a GM to be jazzed about the game they’re running.

Even if the game doesn’t have a GM, somebody has to teach the game, and that’s not usually a tremendously easy task.  So you need to really love what you’re bringing.  That enthusiasm gets across, and it smooths over the rough patches that are absolutely natural when you learn something new.  That can often mean the difference between game ngiht feeling like an investment in hoped-for later fun, or a fun game night where you learned something.

Also, boardgames are awesome.

2 Responses to “Day 45: Run a game you love”

  1. Johnny Oneiric Says:

    S’truth!

    And I’m totally running an Elric game using Sorcerer rules, next. We should keep a sign-up sheet somewhere…

    On a nearly-related tangent to “run what you love”: I was surprised and annoyed at myself for the number of things I needed to look up while running “my” game for you guys. Later I realized it’s because I’m pretty fast and loose with the rules when I’m running Faery’s Tale for my kids, but this was my first time GMing it for adults! I know you guys like to experience new gaming systems (and then tear them apart!), so I wanted to stick closer to the game as-published.

  2. stoughton Says:

    I think the game is going great – and (although I’m not sure) it may be that fast-and-loose might be how Fairy’s Tale was designed in the first place. We’re all having a good time, so no worries. 🙂


Leave a Reply

