Day 41: FanExpo In A Wicked Age recap

September 6, 2009
So at FanExpo (Toronto bigass convention) on the weekend I got to play IN A Wicked Age again, this time as a player.
4 players hadn’t played IAWA before, 2 had, and the GM was a player I had introduced to the game a year ago.
The start was a little slow, and there was a bit of trying to argue success (and avoid using the dice). That was a bit off, but the GM then walked through the conflicts.  I didn’t get on the Owe List, and at the time I felt stymied but really, my guy wasn’t challenging himself – like several others, I backed off of conflict just before they went to dice.  At that point the game seemed to drag.
The GM was doing a good job, although I’m used to how I run it, with very aggriessive scene framing.  There were a couple of points with the dice explanations where I corrected her, and she gave me a very appropriate -look-.  I felt like a knob for about ten seconds, and then something… Happened.
The game lurched back onto the tracks. Suddenly all the meandering and posturing fell away. One event lead to another lead to another, and moments later, we reached a perfect chapter end.  All the frustrating
things were   It was like the game was winking at me, saying “You
thought you were screwing up, but hahaha… I shall now retroactively make the screwups into -Building Tension- to support the -Brilliant Conclusion-.
God damn, I love this game.
Cheers –ry

So at FanExpo (Toronto bigass convention) on the weekend I got to play In A Wicked Age again, this time as a player.

4 players hadn’t played IAWA before, 2 had, and the GM was a player I had introduced to the game a year ago.

The start was a little slow, and there was a bit of trying to argue success (and avoid using the dice). That was a bit off, but the GM then walked through the conflicts.  I didn’t get on the Owe List, and at the time I felt stymied but really, my guy wasn’t challenging himself – like several others, I backed off of conflict just before they went to dice.  At that point the game seemed to drag.

The GM was doing a good job, although I’m used to how I run it, with very aggriessive scene framing.  There were a couple of points with the dice explanations where I corrected her, and she gave me a very appropriate -look-.  I felt like a knob for a few minutes, and then something… happened.

The game lurched back onto the tracks. Suddenly all the meandering and posturing fell away. One event lead to another lead to another, and moments later, we reached a perfect chapter end.  It was like the game was winking at me, saying “You thought you were screwing up, but hahaha… I shall now retroactively make the screwups into building tension to support the cliffhanger ending. Roll credits.”

I love it.

2 Responses to “Day 41: FanExpo In A Wicked Age recap”

  1. Sandy Says:

    Was that Sara M? If so, kudos to her mad GM skillz!

  2. stoughton Says:

    Yup.


Leave a Reply

