Day 35: The Quest for a 4e PHB

August 31, 2009

So last year, I gave up on 4e, gave my PHB to be a raffle prize, and decided I wasn’t interested.

Of course, this year 4e was perfect for a game I wanted to run… so here we are.

Picking up that book in the GTA turned out to be surprisingly difficult.

Places I went where there was not a 4e Player’s Handbook for sale:

  1. Chapters, Newmarket *
  2. Coles, Newmarket *
  3. 4th Dimension Games, Newmarket *
  4. Coles, BCE Place, Toronto
  5. Coles, Royal Bank Plaza, Toronto
  6. Game Trek, Royal York Hotel, Toronto *
  7. Fan Expo, Metro Toronto Convention Centre *

* Places where other D&D books were sold.

Finally, I found a copy at Planet X, in Richmond Hill.

That was a lot more work than I expected.  I think what’s happening is that the bookstores and distributors aren’t doing as big re-orders of past books.  Of course, it doesn’t help that the hobby is such a small niche.  I have a feeling that the typical purchaser for a book chain has no idea that if D&D books are actually moving from shelves, that the Player’s Handbook should be re-ordered, rather than just stocking the newer books.

3 Responses to “Day 35: The Quest for a 4e PHB”

  1. RemiC Says:

    If others are looking, you can try the Chapters in Richmond Hill: I bought one there and they had a few copies.

  2. Johnny Oneiric Says:

    So sorry you had to result to my local Planet X, I’m sure you paid about $10 over cover price? I just don’t shop there anymore.

    I understand that a bricks-n-mortar store has to charge more (ie. full price) than an internet retailer (discounted), but $10 MORE than full price? When I can (usually) get it for cover price at the nearest Chapters? FU!

    I think they’re trying to get out of the RPG market, their RPG shelf is smaller every time I go in there. I think they’re just too stubborn to have a 50%-off sale on rulebooks and be done with it.

    How a store survives on Spawn models and graphic novels, I’ll never know.

    • stoughton Says:

      Actually, I just had to pay cover price, so it wasn’t too bad. I think I got it at that price because the person who was SUPPOSED to be working there decided to go to FanExpo instead. If only my employers were so lenient…


Leave a Reply

